Tasty Tuesday: Homemade Bread

Per my friend Johanna’s suggestion, I recently purchased the book, Make the Bread, Buy the Butter. So today, I made the bread.  I won’t reprint the recipe here, but I found the book used online and I highly recommend it.

Taste: pretty yummy. Not amazing, but who can beat hot baked bread?
Cost: basically free (I had all the ingredients and none were especially expensive.)
Ease: E helped me. He’s a year old and not always especially helpful.

photo 2

I think I will play with more recipes, but hers was easy and has a nice crunchy crust which I found quite satisfying. I did have a little trouble getting it out of the pan.

image

I think the really nice thing about this book is the way her recipes feed into each other. So for instance, instead of water, you can use the whey from your yogurt (I’m trying that now.) Then when your bread is going stale you can either make some croutons or throw the bread in the freezer to make breadcrumbs later. No waste! I’m really horrible about spending $17 on some special ingredient and then tossing it because I let it expire.

So far, homemade bread was a major success… And anything you can do with the help of a toddler is both worth it and precious.

photo 1

Leave a Reply

