The Nursery Tour: Part 1 (The Furniture)

So here it is, folks. The long awaited nursery tour.

I couldn’t really get a good picture of the whole room (bad angles) so I’ve decided to break it up into a series of auto-posting posts. So come back tomorrow for the next installment!

Firstly of all, this is the recliner.

When we got to the nursery, I knew a regular old rocking chair was not going to cut it.  We needed a recliner.  A comfy, I can sleep in it, Jake can work from it, recliner.  And so we began scouring Craigslist.  After having slept many a night in this chair, as the pregnancy gets more and more uncomfortable, I can say, this was a good purchase!

Then there’s the crib, of course.  This was a hand-me-down from our dear friends Amy, Fletcher and Jayne.  So aside from being a beautiful color and a great financial help, it’s also a reminder of them, since they just moved away (and we miss them already!)

The changing table was an interesting adventure.  I found the one I wanted at Target, but my Target didn’t carry it. (They did have a floor model though, for some reason.)  Jake, sweetly, called around the next day for me and was told that a nearby Target had it, but it was on sale so they couldn’t hold it.  He immediately drove over and picked it up… and ended up getting it for 1/3 of the original cost!!  I was so excited!

The cubes and the bookcase were a big thing too.  Katie my sister helped pick out the cubes, and Jake and I picked out the bookcase.  I originally thought I was going to have a mismatched nursery, because I didn’t think I could coordinate all the pieces, but it really came together nicely!

Up next: The Colors!

Leave a Reply

