Dinner of Champions!

More vacation posts coming later, but first, Dinner!

I had one of those days. The kind where I’m both physically and emotionally tired, I need a nap, and I haven’t cooked in about 2 weeks and we don’t have much food in the house, but Jake won’t be home for an hour, so I should probably attempt to make something.

So I went to my very very favorite website, allrecipes.com. A quick search for main dishes with chicken, sort by rating, a glance over the ingredients, and bam, I’m whipping up a batch of “jerky chicken.”

It was incredibly fast. I had everything on hand, even though my spice rack is half empty. I subbed some of our cayenne peppers from the garden for the habeneros, and took a nap while it marinated. A little trick I’ve learned – if you cut the chicken into smaller pieces, it marinates faster AND cooks faster. Magic!

Jacob loved it. I asked if this was a “once in awhile” or an “every week” recipe and he exclaimed “3 times a week!”. So I guess it meets approval. And anything I can make in 5 minutes, a 30 minute nap, and then throw in the oven for 15 minutes is a-okay with me.

Domestic Diva Version of Jerky Chicken.
1. In a large bowl or ziplock, combine the following: (I didn’t measure anything. No little measuring spoons to clean and who cares if it’s exact, it’s a marinade!).
  • some chopped onion. A few tablespoons
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 4 tbsp soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp canola oil (or sesame. or olive. or whatever you have.)
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp ground allspice
  • 1 habenero. Or 2 cayennne peppers. Or something spicy.
  • 2 -3 half chicken breasts, cubed
2. Marinade for 30 minutes or so. Nap. Or facebook.
3. Broil for 5-10 minutes. Yay meat thermometers. Try not to die a horrible uncooked chicken death.
Leave a Reply

