Delicious pancakes

Jake and I love to do pancakes on Saturday mornings. I’ve been a Bisquick kinda girl, but I recently discovered this delightful product on the baking aisle of my Food Lion. Cultured Dry Buttermilk which keeps in my pantry, but only replaces the buttermilk in my recipes…

My pancake recipe has evolved over time but here is my current delicious recipe for
Saturday Morning Pancakes
Yields 6 large pancakes. (2 is a plenty for one person at our house)
Each pancake is: 130 calories, 2.8 g fat, 20g carbs, 2.2 g fiber, 4 g sugar, 6 g protein.

– 4 tablespoons of buttermilk substitute
– 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
– 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
– 2 tablespoons flax seed (ground), optional
– 1 cup milk
– 1 egg
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1/4 tsp baking soda
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 1 tsp Stevia (sugar substitute). If you use sugar, use 1 tablespoon. Stevia is much sweeter than sugar.

Make batter by mixing all ingredients. Make pancakes. Eat, yum!

Notes:

  • Both the Flax Seed and the Stevia were purchased at Trader Joes.
  • I have a bag of ground flax seed that I keep in the fridge to add whenever I’m baking. This is optional, but it adds protein, which helps the Glycemic Index of the recipe.
  • The stevia was an experiment today. My husband, super taster that he is normally complains about anything that isn’t sugar. Stevia is actually a plant extract and Jacob said “I can taste it but it’s very mild.” I couldn’t taste a difference at all.
  • I add chocolate chips to the pancakes as they are cooking. This is because 1- otherwise the chocolate chips don’t get nicely spaced out and 2 – I don’t eat chocolate chips in my pancakes, so I can make them to order… giving my husband extra calories and happiness, whereas I can keep the sugar low.
  • And of course, I top my pancakes with low sugar syrup. 🙂


One thought on “Delicious pancakes

Leave a Reply

