Exciting news!

So very exciting news for two very dear friends (and bridesmaids!) got engaged to their respective mans over the holidays!

Megan and I have been friends since we were two years old. Although she moved away in elementary school and our penpal-ship has been… rocky at best over the years (it was totally my fault!), we have stayed very close and since freshman year in college have learned just how similar we still are. She and her honey, Matt, are looking to get married this July (and I get to be the matron of honor!! I’m so excited!)

Grace and I met when we were in middle school, and ended up living together for 3 years in college. She and I have seen each other through all our crazy times learning who we were, how to be grownups, and how to survive this awful thing they call “classes”. She and her man, Nathaniel (who I studied with in undergrad) are also looking forward to a summer wedding. I know it will be beautiful!

On a totally different note, I recently asked many friends via facebook for book suggestions and I’m starting to slowly make my way through the list. Which you can look at here

So far I’ve read:

  • The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho,
  • 2 short stories by William Faulkner (The Evening Sun Go Down and A Rose For Emily)
  • I’m about 6 chapters into Jane Austen’s Persuasion.

I am actually really enjoying trying new things. It’s not like I have any expectations out of reading these books, or that I am trying to finish them in any sort of reasonable time-frame, but somehow it makes me feel less sad while my husband does super smart academic things like learn his 5th language (English, Greek, Hebrew, Syriac, and now Latin) or do research on topics that I can’t even understand! (Fyi – He and his friends blog about these endeavors here).

If you have any other book suggestions for me, feel free to comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

